Eye! New scam with fake Google Docs invitations

Hackers usurped identities from Google Drive

Beware of emails from Google with a strange invitation to use a Google Drive collaborative document. It appears there are a number of scammers out there who send fake invitations to users to enter Google Docs, Slides, or Sheets that are in reality trying to confiscate their personal information for illegal purposes.

A fuck on Google Drive allows hackers to send messages impersonating Google

As reported by many users on social networks, the fraud occurs in two ways: via email and via push notifications. The main problem is that cyber criminals have managed to send these messages by taking advantage of an alleged bug in Google Drive posing as the companywhich gives legitimacy to fraud.

How does deception come about? On cell phones, hackers use this Google Drive bug to send the user a push notification inviting them to join the process of sharing a document. Pressing the notification will take the user to the document which has a great and very enticing link in it. This leads to a website that was created on October 26th and it has all kinds of offers, sweepstakes, and supposed prizes. You must of course enter personal information to participate and then provide it to criminals.

In the case of emails, an email comes from Google with an invitation to collaborate and a link to the same website. The mail services do not recognize that it is spam – not even Gmail – as they pass through all security filters through “misleading” procedures by Google and land in the inbox.

Having a seemingly legitimate recipient makes it harder to tell that it is a scam. However, according to many users who have received fraudulent communications, the texts attached to the email often contain words in poorly written English or even in other languages ​​such as Russian. Also, the name of the collaborative file is quite strange and unusual, which should arouse suspicion.

You can also test the link without clicking it. All you have to do is hover your mouse over the link and see which web address is being formed in the lower left corner of the browser. If it is very strange or is not known to the user, it is best to discard clicking on it. In the face of these strange situations of emails and notifications, the best thing to do is to ignore these messages, always be vigilant and share them with friends and family as hackers will not stop and improve their techniques every time.

Click to rate this entry!
(Votes: 0 Average: 0)
Share!

Leave a Comment