How to create and share custom routes “by hand” in Google Maps

Google Maps has a tool called “Google My Maps” that allows you to freehand draw your own routes and completely personalized itineraries, which you can then save or share with other contacts.

Google My Maps is a Google Maps tool that allows you to freehand draw an itinerary or itinerary

Google My Maps can be used in two ways: access via the Google My Maps website – this is not possible directly from Google Maps – and another way is by downloading the Google My Maps app, which is available for free on Android phones. There is currently no iOS version available.

To be able to draw the routes freehand, you need to open a map and add a new map layer. On the webpage, you need to press the plus (+) button, represented by a red circle, and on the mobile version, press the three vertical dots in the top right corner of the screen.

Either way, a new drafting tools window will be activated from which you can select “Draw Line”. This option is represented by an icon that combines lines and circles. Then all you have to do is go to the map and press it to mark the points of the route you want to create, from the starting point to the various arrival points to the completion of the path.

Each line of the created route can be personalized with a name and description, changed its color and even added a photo. There’s also a button that lets you delete it in case you don’t want to save it anymore or if you’ve made a mistake while drawing. When the route is completely ready, all you have to do is save it and it will automatically be saved as another map in your Google account.

How to share the created route in Google Maps

In the upper left corner of the Freehand Route edit box, there is a link to “Share” with a silhouette of a person and a plus (+) sign. When you click on it, you will be asked to add a name for the card and a shipping description.

Then click on the «OK» button and a new window will be activated in which you can enter the name of the contact to whom you want to send the drawn route via Gmail and grant him / her read or write permissions. You can also add a message for the recipient.

If you want to share the route with Gmail in a way other than email, you can copy the route’s link and text it, share it on social networks, or use another email account. You also have editing options to make it public or limit viewing to previously personalized contacts.

Click to rate this entry!
(Votes: 0 Average: 0)
Share!

Leave a Comment