How to enable peer-to-peer encryption in Zoom

End-to-end encrypted zoom

Zoom launched the end-to-end encryption feature for all users a few weeks ago. This means that both of the passwords for video calls are no longer stored on the Zoom server but are stored on the computers of users, which improves privacy on the platform.

Enabling end-to-end encryption in Zoom makes it impossible to use some features, despite the fact that the company has stated that it is working to fix this situation

However, the function is not activated by default. This is an option that the user must enable in Zoom if they want peer-to-peer encryption to work in the next meeting. If external encryption is enabled in an event, remember that it will only work during that event. When the meeting is over and encryption is disabled, and you want to make another video call and want maximum security, you will need to enable it again.

You have to consider something else. When end-to-end encryption is enabled, these nine features are currently disabled or cannot be used. Zoom has found that it is working to remedy the situation so that, for example, small rooms or live transcripts can be created during the encrypted communication.

Be that as it may, if you want end-to-end encryption in your next meeting, here’s a step-by-step guide on how to do it:

How to enable encryption in Zoom

– Enter zoom and log in with your personal account.

– Then click in the “Personal” area on Zoom “Settings”.

– Make sure you are on the “Meetings” tab and scroll down to the “Advanced” section on the screen.

– Look for the option “End-to-end encrypted meetings” and activate the switch right next to it.

– When activated, Zoom will activate a pop-up asking to validate the account using the phone number used during the initial registration. A six-digit code is displayed when placing it, which you must enter in the appropriate field. Also, make sure you are not a robot by clicking the captcha box.

Use these simple steps to enable point-to-point encryption in the meeting via zoom. In addition, an option is enabled that allows this additional security to be automatically enabled in meetings and used in all meetings.

It has even been accused of lying to its users for believing they already had it active when in reality it wasn’t. However, the company accepted the mistake and promised not to do it again.

Click to rate this entry!
(Votes: 0 Average: 0)
Share!

Leave a Comment