Many Gmail users don’t know, but Google’s email service does enables you to cancel the sending of an e-mail after you have given “Send”. There are times when you find that you sent the message to the wrong recipient, or that you didn’t attach the file you should attach, or you just regret sending this message and want to go back. This Gmail feature is similar to WhatsApp’s ability to delete a message after you’ve already sent it. And like the instant messaging app, Gmail only lets you cancel sending for a few seconds.
Gmail offers its users the option to cancel sending an email after they have given “Send”.
Default, Gmail will display an “Undo” window for five seconds send an email. But that time may be too short, and you might want to have a little more time to think about whether you really want to send this email. Because of this, you can change this in Gmail from the desktop version and increase the time in which you can cancel a shipment. Here we explain how to do it:
– “Show all settings”: When you open your Gmail tray on your computer, you will see that there is an icon in the shape of a wheel in the top left corner. Clicking on it will bring up a window that has a blue sign at the top that says “Show All Settings”.
– “Undo shipping”: Once you click that sign, Gmail will take you to a new screen. At the top you will see a series of tabs that read “General”, “Labels”, “Receive” … By default, Gmail will direct you to the first page we are interested in.
Among the various options there is one that says the submission will be undone. From there you can view a small tab where you can find the Cancellation period for a shipment. It can be 5 seconds, which is the default, 10, 20 or 30 seconds. Once you’ve decided how long you want this period to be, go to the bottom of the screen and click “Save Changes.”