How to remove your home from Google Maps

Image from Google Maps

One of the most appreciated functionalities by Google Maps users is Street View 360, as it allows them to be located at “street level” and observe what a particular address looks like. In this sense, from time to time, it is possible to find an address or space that appears blurry, as happens with the faces of people and the license plates of cars, this happens because a user has asked Google to blur the specific address by privacy reasons.

Google Maps offers a tool for users to blur their homes to protect their privacy.

Any user can request a specific address to be blurred. To do this, simply access the application (no matter if it is from browser or mobile phone) and use the Street View 360 functionality by dragging the small orange doll icon that appears at the bottom right of the screen.

Next, you need to search for the specific address you want to smudge. To continue, you need to focus on the specific part that you want to blur (it is very important to place the screen right in front of the direction you want to blur) and click on the three vertical dots that appear in the upper left part of the screen, as shown in the following image.

Request to blur house

When you do so, a drop-down menu will appear with several options, where you must select: “Report a problem“. Doing so will take us to another page with a snippet of the street section where Street View is located and several options.

One of the options that appears on this page is called “Request out of focus“and has several options that can be selected by clicking on them. The one we are interested in is “My home”. When you click on it, Google will request additional information to identify the specific address, so you will have to describe the facade in as much detail as possible (color, shape, etc.).

Google Maps request to remove my house

Finally, Google will request an email address and the resolution of a captcha to proceed to blur the requested section. This process will take a few days and once it is complete the blur will be permanentso it will not be possible to go back.

Click to rate this entry!
(Votes: 1 Average: 5)
Share!

Leave a Comment