What is HDR on TV and what types exist

What HDR offers

HDR (High Dynamic Range) is a term that comes from the field of photography, which refers to the technique that cameras use to increase the dynamic range of images. That is, it is a technology that allows you to obtain captures with darker black tones, brighter whites and higher contrast levels.

Now, we will explain to you what is HDR on TV, and for this it is relevant to mention that this feature is already common in the vast majority of smart TVs that are currently marketed. Specifically, the best 4K televisions and the best 8K TVs incorporate different types of HDR technology, the quality of which depends on the price of the device.

Basically, a screen with HDR will allow you to appreciate images with a level of detail in terms of texture, color and brightness that is truly surprising. So, to understand what HDR on TV is, it is crucial to clarify that 4K and HDR are not the same. And while the objective of UHD resolution is to increase the number of pixels, with HDR what is sought is for the existing pixels to be much more precise.

What types of HDR exist?

Although the different types of HDR available for home use do not differ that much from each other, they still all tend to generate a lot of confusion. However, it is quite easy to understand them if we know their origin and what they can really offer:

– HDR10: It is the original HDR standard and the most common of all. Today, the vast majority of televisions with 4K resolution improve the image thanks to this technique. In fact, the most popular streaming platforms and UHD content transmission devices include HDR10.

– Dolby Vision: Originally designed to complement Dolby Atmos sound in movie theaters, Dolby Vision is one of the most prevalent HDR formats in home devices today. The most notable feature of this standard is that you can add dynamic metadata frame by frame to always obtain the same image quality.

– HDR10+: created by Samsung, it is the direct rival of Dolby Vision, as it uses the same dynamic metadata mechanism to improve images. Of course, unlike Dolby Vision, HDR10+ is an open platform, although that does not prevent both from generally being compatible on devices from different manufacturers.

– HLG: stands for Hybrid Log Gamma and is a product of collaboration between the British BBC and the Japanese broadcaster NHK. It is a format that combines dynamic range images and HDR images in the same source. Although the result of this technique is quite convenient in the field of content transmission, it is relevant to mention that, at the moment, it is not as common as the rest of the formats.

Click to rate this entry!
(Votes: 0 Average: 0)

Leave a Comment